Your Choice is your Destiny

Written by: Aziz – CorpsAfrica/Maroc Volunteer
Date: March 1, 2015

Youchoiceisyourdestiny3“I decided to drop out of school,” said Hassan, the only high school student in the douar. These words or this sentence rocked my feelings and conceptions. No way, this should not happen at this stage. I will not forgive myself to let this catastrophe occur. This is my time, my duty. This is why I am here. It is not his destiny to choose this failing path. High school is where Hassan should be.

Hassan is a high school student. He studies in the first year baccalaureate (Moroccan system) in the nearby town. Hassans’ life was normal like most rural students. He leaves his village every Monday morning and he returned back on Friday afternoon. Hassan’ marks were not bad. His daily life was not that hard. Everything was normal and up to rural norms.

Youchoiceisyourdestiny4I did not ask him to go back to school… I just invited him to have a seat with me in my personal space. I though telling him my story will give him a space to think and rethink about his future. The two hours in my space were a very detailed description of my life changes and challenges.

“I was born in a small village in south east of Morocco. My parents are illiterate. They do not know how to write and to read. We were poor as the majority of my village’s inhabitants. I had my primary school in my village. When I finished the primary level, I moved to Kelaat M’gouna to accomplish preparatory and secondary level (middle and high school). I left my home at the age of 13 years old to live with my aunt who was near enough to the high school. I use to walk more than 16 km (4km each way, twice) per day.

Everything was totally different to my home and my surrounding. I passed the preparatory level with an acceptable mark. When I was at the secondary level I chose to bike everyday to my douar. I use to bike more than 56km (14km each way, twice) per day. It was very hard time for me. I struggled to graduate (Moroccan baccalaureate). However, I did not have what I planned for. I quit the high school not by choice and I left my dreams behind… I entered the world of work because my family was in deep need to my help at that specific time. I used to work at any work, just to get some money. I worked in construction, agriculture, commerce…

Two years later, things get normal and good enough to choose another direction and to have any plan to my future. At that time the tourism sector offered various chances and horizons. I got my tourism diploma at June 2007. I worked in the tourism domain until the end of 2009 when the economic world crisis affect deeply and negatively this sector. I was among thousands of laid-off workers… I returned to my village and I tried to work at the cosmetic products with a pittance salary under miserable conditions. I had chance to participate in numerous artisan exhibitions around Morocco. I collected dozens of participation certificates. At the same time I was studying Quantity Surveyor a day per week during eight months. Moreover, I applied for Qualification in financial management certificate and free baccalaureate (like an American GED). By June 2011, I got the three certificates and diplomas. Thanks God.

At the age of 29 years old, I was in a new crossroads. They were very crucial moments. I chose to go back to my dreams and get my BA. I was sure that I will not benefit from any scholarship. I gambled and the three university years were good enough. I use to work whenever I had chance and time. By the end of June 2014 I got my BA with good marks. Thanks to God!

Youchoiceisyourdestiny1Today, I am here with you as volunteer in your village away from my own village. I am here because I followed my passion, my goals, and my duty. I will not stop in this path. I will do more than my best to achieve my dreams… your future is in your hands. Your destiny is your choices. Do whatever you want. You are only 17 years old and the whole world is on your side…”

This was my speech to Hassan.

The day after, I asked about Hassan and they told me that he returns to his courses. It was a memorable and grateful moment. I hope this choice will change his future positively and have a great helpful impact on his community next years. Nowadays, Hassan is one of my best friends in this site. He always visit me whenever he returns to his village.

Youchoiceisyourdestiny2