A Journey to the Hammam

Written by: Soufien M. – CorpsAfrica/Maroc Volunteer
Date: February 21, 2015

Actually the Hammam day is one of my favorite days of the week that I enjoy along with our fellows volunteers at Mourad’s site, not only because we get cleaned but it is a time when I have the chance to be in his village, which is a different site from mine. We consider it a very special village, as it is larger and people seem to be more open and daring, especially women and girls. They would talk to a stranger like me while women in my site would not dare do it.

When I first came to the valley along with the other volunteers almost three months ago I can remember how we were stuck, without being able to go anywhere because of the flood and the rain that did not stop, thus; we could not have a shower either as no one dared to get his clothes off in that low temperature, in fact we did not even know if there is any Hammam available around the place.

Under such circumstances we were not able to bath only after ten days when Mourad settled down at his site then we figured out the solution; when we were informed that there is a public Hammam at his site (thanks God). So after almost ten rainy days without shower we decided to go to the Hammam of Mourad’s site. I was excited along with Mourad, Ayoub, Soufian A. and his host brother Saiid, whom we followed under the dark night on a way through the fields of apple and walnut alongside the river straight to the Hammam which is beside the Mosque.

After we got there we came in a room where we found five persons having a chat in Berber, one of them in the meantime was in charge of setting fire of the Hammam. They welcomed us and said that the place is empty and available to us, we got into the second room where we hung our bags and clothes then we got undressed then we kneeled to pass through a very small door then we were overwhelmed to witness the smallest Hammam we’ve ever seen in our lives! It was a crazy moment that I got out quickly and brought my phone from the other room where I hung my bag to take a selfie that I am sharing with you.Hammam

Though the place was tiny and not very warm, we were happy that we could find it. From then on it became our only available refugee to clean our bodies once a week. Furthermore an occasion to chat with people from Mourad’s site about different issues, also it is a time to practice Another pleasant activity that we enjoy which is stretching or rather the Moroccan massage that is called (Tekssal); especially with Ayoub whom I believe to be a master of this job that requires technique and effort though the place is very small and with only one tap of warm water that is used by turn and everyone shall wait patiently his turn.