Under the Sky

Written by: Aziz – CorpsAfrica/Maroc Volunteer
Date: February 28, 2015

Having the rain is the best thing to happen in my region and this site. I always feel that need of people to rain and water during the hot summer’s months and many lean years. I experienced that suffering months and years where people only struggle to survive. I saw those moments of joviality on their faces whenever it rains. Rain is life. However, rain was the hell for thousands families few months ago.

underthesky5I still remember those hours of fear and surrender to the sky waiting what will happen. It was 01h20 a.m when I heard string sound of thunder and rain. I had that notification that it will rain a lot on my site. What’s more, I know that I live in fragile room under crisp roof which may fall down at any second. I was praying all that time. My eyes were fixed on the roof. My ears were picking up any sound, and the adrenaline was flooding along my veins. They were hard moments and emotions from hell.

underthesky3

underthesky4Hours later, I handed over my soul to the destiny. This was the only and the last thing I can do under those unexpected natural conditions. I did not have any place to pass the rest of that night except my little room. However, I lived under the same circumstances as thousands of families in the south east of Morocco that time. We all saw and heard about what happened in Geulmim, Sidi ifni, Ouarzazate, Taroudant, and Tinghir because of those unexpected hundreds of millimetres of rain in two days. Many roads and bridges were brocks and damaged. Hundreds of houses fell down. Dozens of people were dead and missing.

underthesky2 underthesky1For many years, Souss-Massa-Deraa and Tafilalt regions suffered from the drought and desertification. However, only in two days of rain, the water level at many dams in these regions passed the limits for the first time: 118.8% in Al Manssour Al Dahbi Dam in Ouarzazate and 67% in Hassan Al Dakhel Dam in Errachidia. Still, despite this, it affected positively the groundwater in many regions which foreshadowing with good for farmers.

 

underthesky6“Misfortunes of some folk are benefits of other folks.”      

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment